Keto Reviews

Here you'll find my reviews of various keto products I've sampled from snacks to supplements.

KetoFix Review: Chocolate Coconut Keto Energy Bars

As the popularity of the keto diet increases, more keto bars are entering the market to replace high-carb energy and protein bars. KetoFix was founded in Montreal, Canada, and the company creates bars that are intended to satisfy cravings with healthy fats. At the time of writing, KetoFix has launched one flavor, which is called Premium Chocolate Coconut. The bars are advertised to contain quality ingredients that won’t knock dieters out of ketosis. I tried KetoFix’s bars and will discuss the ingredients, macros, flavor, and texture as well as where to buy the bars in this review.

KetoFix Bar Ingredients

KetoFix bars are free from artificial sweeteners, dairy, soy, and corn fillers. The ingredients are Organic Almond Butter, Grass Fed Whey Protein Concentrate, Chicory Root Fiber, Organic Coconut, Almonds, 100% Cacao Chocolate Chips, Sunflower Lecithin, Organic Vegetable Glycerin, Cacao Butter, Erythritol, MCT Oil (from coconut), Organic Cocoa, Natural Flavors, and Sea Salt.

Continue reading “KetoFix Review: Chocolate Coconut Keto Energy Bars”


Updated Nui Cookie Review: Tasting the New Recipe Launched in 2019

I was first introduced to Nui cookies by the Joe Rogan Experience back when the brand was called Keto Kookie. The keto-friendly cookie company has since changed its name, and in November 2018, Nui was featured on Shark Tank. About a year later, the company announced another big change: a complete reformulation of their recipe.

While the old new cookies came in four flavors, there are only two flavors now, which are Chocolate Chip and Cinnamon Snickerdoodle. My previous Nui cookie review is now outdated because the old recipe is no longer available. Naturally, I had to try the new recipe and share my reaction with my blog subscribers.

Keep reading to learn how the recipe changed and how I thought it compared it compared to the old recipe! Continue reading “Updated Nui Cookie Review: Tasting the New Recipe Launched in 2019”


KetoWatt Review: Low Carb Protein Bars [No Longer Available]

UPDATE 2/23/20: KetoWatt bars are no longer available on the company’s website. I will miss these bars as they had many qualities I liked, particularly the fact that they did not use any type of sweetener! However, if you are looking for vegan-friendly keto bars, Love Good Fats bars and Dang bars are both great options. If you are looking for a bar that is paleo-friendly and don’t need it to be vegan, I’d try Primal Kitchen’s bars.


Although I try to focus on eating whole foods as part of my keto diet, I also appreciate the convenience of prepackaged low carb treats and am always looking for new options. When it comes to protein or energy bars, there are a lot of mainstream options due to the current popularity of low carb diets including Quest bars, Atkins bars (now without maltitol!), and SlimFast Keto bars. These can be found in most grocery stores, but many keto dieters are skeptical of these products and don’t like the ingredients used.

Continue reading “KetoWatt Review: Low Carb Protein Bars [No Longer Available]”


Keto Bars Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond Review [New Vegan Recipe]

In December 2018, the company Keto Bars sent out an email announcing a new flavor called Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond. This flavor would replace their original and best-selling Dark Chocolate Coconut bar. My first reaction was apprehension. I was a big fan of the Dark Chocolate Coconut bars, as I stated in my first Keto Bars review. However, I was willing to give them a chance, so I ordered a box. I enjoy sugar-free protein and energy bars in general, and some of my favorites are the new Atkins bars without maltitol (especially in Chocolate Peanut Butter), the Slimfast Keto bars, and Perfect Keto’s bars. If I’m being honest, I’m obsessed with sweets and rarely find a keto-friendly treat I truly dislike, so I wasn’t likely to hate Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond.

In this post, I’ll explain why Keto Bars changed their original flavor and also share my review of these new Keto Bars. If you want to skip the review and order a box of Keto Bars now, make sure you use the discount code PESCATARIANKETO for 10% off. Continue reading “Keto Bars Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond Review [New Vegan Recipe]”


Nui Review: Keto Cookies Seen on Shark Tank and Joe Rogan Experience #994

Update 11/2/2019: I updated this review when Nui appeared on Shark Tank, and now I have more news! As of recently, Nui has changed their recipe, so my review below is outdated. The cookies I wrote about are no longer available. Check out my review of the new Nui cookies to learn how the company changed them and which flavor was my favorite!

Update 12/2/2018: The keto-friendly cookie brand Nui appeared on an episode of Shark Tank that aired Sunday, November 25, 2018. I love Shark Tank and have reviewed other keto-friendly products that I discovered on the show show such as Wink Frozen Desserts and ENERGYbits spirulina. I was introduced to Nui when they were mentioned in Joe Rogan Experience #994, but they will now be known by a way larger audience as those keto cookies from Shark Tank.

Nui Cookies accepted $300,000 from Alex Rodriguez for 25% of the company. I hope that Nui’s success grows (and I’m sure the exposure alone will help a lot) because as you will see from my review (originally posted 4/15/18), the cookies are very tasty and have perfect macros for the keto diet!

Continue reading “Nui Review: Keto Cookies Seen on Shark Tank and Joe Rogan Experience #994”


Perfect Keto Micronutrient Greens Powder Review

Some people who start the keto diet are disappointed to hear that you can’t consume much fruit due to the high sugar content. One of my health and nutrition heroes, Dr. Rhonda Patrick, has mentioned that she eats a lot of fruit and that she would be concerned about getting enough micronutrients on a ketogenic diet. This worried me a bit too. You can fit small amounts of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries into your daily macros (and avocados, which are high in fat and low in carbs, are a fruit), but fruits like apples, oranges, and bananas are just a bit too sugary.

The truth is that many keto dieters are missing out on valuable micronutrients that are typically ingested via fruit, especially if they subscribe to a version of the diet that is heavy in bacon and butter. I incorporate tons of vegetables (spinach especially) into my pescatarian keto diet, but although I know I can have berries, I typically don’t.

When I heard about Perfect Keto’s Micronutrient Greens Powder, I was instantly intrigued because it promised to deliver tons of micronutrients in drinkable form without the risk of consuming too much sugar. I tried it out for myself, and here’s everything you need to know about the Greens Powder. Oh yeah, and if you use my promo code FISHYKETO, you can try it for 15% off! Continue reading “Perfect Keto Micronutrient Greens Powder Review”


Fat Snax Keto Cookie Review

UPDATE 2/23/20: Fax Snax has changed their packaging since my review, making the photos I use outdated. KNOW cookies also changed their packaging and the size of their cookies at some point, and currently, I am unable to find KNOW cookies anywhere. Please enjoy my Fat Snax review knowing that it was written in 2018!

It’s safe to say that I am a bit addicted to trying and reviewing keto cookies. I’ve written about KNOW Better Cookies and Nui cookies (formerly called Keto Kookies), and this review focuses on Fat Snax cookies. Like the other two brands, Fat Snax are high fat, low carb cookies formulated for the keto diet. Admittedly, I have only tried one flavor of Fat Snax cookies, which is the chocolate chip. Therefore, my Fat Snax review is not as complete as my other reviews.

At this time, I don’t have plans to order more flavors Fat Snax cookies, but I’m likely to try the variety pack at some point in the future and update this review. Anyway, keep reading for my reaction to Fat Snax keto cookies as well as a comparison with KNOW cookies! Continue reading “Fat Snax Keto Cookie Review”


Perfect Keto Pure MCT Oil Powder Review

I’ve written about a variety of products from Perfect Keto in the past such as their keto nut butter and BHB salts. They’re definitely one of my go-to brands for keto essentials! In this post, I’m going to talk about Perfect Keto MCT Oil Powder. First, I’ll give a little background on MCT oil, and then I’ll answer every question you could possibly have about MCT oil powder.

Keep reading my review of Perfect Keto’s MCT Oil Powder to find out how it’s made, why you should use it, and how you can get 15% off your order! (Hint: Scroll to the bottom of the article if you’re looking for the discount code.)

What Is MCT Oil?

When you make the decision to follow a ketogenic diet and start reading about it on the internet, chances are you’ll encounter mentions of MCT oil. MCT is an abbreviation of medium-chain triglycerides, and MCT oil is a source of fat that is typically derived from coconuts, though it may also come from palm oil. It’s important to note that coconut oil is not the same thing as MCT oil because this is a common source of confusion. If you encounter these two oils in person, the difference is obvious; coconut oil is solid at room temperature whereas MCT oil is liquid. Continue reading “Perfect Keto Pure MCT Oil Powder Review”


Perfect Keto Nut Butter Review – Macadamia, Cashew, and MCT Oil Blend

Perfect Keto, a company that produces essentials for the keto diet including exogenous ketones and MCT oil powder, recently introduced a Nut Butter formulated for the ketogenic lifestyle. Perfect Keto Nut Butter is a blend of raw macadamia nuts, raw cashews, raw coconut butter, MCT oil, vanilla bean powder, and sea salt. These ingredients are awesome for powering a plant-based keto diet—or any keto diet.

Anyway, now that I’ve received my Nut Butter and have been snacking on it for a few days, it’s time to do a review! Read on for my reaction to Perfect Keto Nut Butter.

If you don’t need to read the review before you order, then use my discount code FISHYKETO for 15% off when you buy your Nut Butter.

How Does Perfect Keto Nut Butter Taste?

When I first went to taste the nut butter, I was surprised by how liquidy it was compared to a normal nut butter. This is the result of the MCT oil. A moment later, I read the side of the jar and saw the recommendation to store it in the fridge. Continue reading “Perfect Keto Nut Butter Review – Macadamia, Cashew, and MCT Oil Blend”


Keto Bars Review: Quest Bar Alternative for the Keto Diet

Update 2/17/19: Keto Bars has changed the recipe of their Dark Chocolate Coconut Flavor to Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond since I wrote this review. There have also been small changes in the prices since this review, and the bars are now available on Amazon. See my review of the new flavor to learn more. My original review is below, but keep in mind that some information is now outdated. Oh, and I also now have a discount code to share with you for the Keto Bars website. Enter PESCATARIANKETO at checkout for 10% off.

Before I started the ketogenic diet, I was all about my energy bars. Clif Bars were my obsession, but they are full of sugar and have no place in my current keto lifestyle. Finding a keto replacement was vital. Like many before me, I first stumbled upon Quest Bars, which are readily available in pretty much every store. However, for a variety of reasons I’ll explore, Quest Bars are not ideal for keto, so I was excited to find Keto Bars. I was also excited because I’m admittedly obsessed with sampling and reviewing keto products, but I digress.

There are three flavors of Keto Bars, Dark Chocolate CoconutChocolate Mint, and Chocolate Peanut Butter. When I received my first ever box of Keto Bars, I was delighted to see that the company gave me two stickers, one that read “Keto Warrior” and another saying “Keto Does It Butter.”

That was a nice touch, but what about the taste and the nutrition information? Keep reading my Keto Bars review to find out! Continue reading “Keto Bars Review: Quest Bar Alternative for the Keto Diet”